It’s not you, it’s me…..

So much for all my lofty promises! Well I suppose we are on the verge of  breaking up now because I didn’t hold up my end of the deal? Well let me first say I’m sorry and try to salvage what we have left. I am asking for your forgiveness and I’ll try to explain myself for what it is worth! I mean second chances happen, right?
Well in the past few months a lot has gone on in the “barnhouse” and without boring you with every miniscule detail I’ll just run down a few of the big ones to help catch you up on the latest. In June Mark went to Africa for two weeks, a great experience for him and such a wonderful opportunity thanks to the military!

Ruca

Unfortunately right before he left we found out that Ruca, our female 11-year-old english mastiff, has cancer. This news was devastating as we both have had delusional dreams of our beloved pets out living us and always being around. After careful research covering all our options we decided to let Ruca live out the remains of her beautiful life in style and comfort and without surgery. At almost 12 years old we could not ask her to undergo all that it would entail to try to remove the cancer, which has likely spread at this point anyway. So we cried, we talked, we treated her like she was somehow different for a couple of days and then we realized, she is an amazing dog who has no idea she has cancer;  so we decided let’s make the most of the time we all have left together and continue to spoil the heck out of our princess pup!  And that’s what we have been trying to do!

Hmmm what else is happening? Well we had a great week of family visits from Mark’s daughter and mother, Willow and Marge. We got to play tourist in our town a bit, which was a blast! And we also snuck in a trip to one of our favorite places on earth, Mount Desert Island! Some pictures below are from our trip!  We hosted a great cookout with both our friends and families.

Congrats Steve and Lauren!

We had a wedding to attend, busy work schedules and not to mention everyday clean up around the house!  (the dogs are shedding bad!) Plus summer is the time for lots of little projects;  we renovated our den room with new flooring, new paint on the walls and trim and “new-to-us” furniture. The project was exciting and turned out to be quite the transformation! We are very pleased with the results, and next on to painting the bedroom!

Some more big news in the world of animal chaos aka “our life,” our chickens have begun laying eggs!!! It started with 3 to 4 a day and now we are up to 10 a day! That’s more eggs that we can eat, I mean at first Mark was cooking eggs for breakfast everyday, then we were making quiches and searching for any recipes that were egg based that we could find. Finally we realized that yard fresh eggs are pretty much the bomb and maybe we should ask if anyone would like to buy any? Right away we had interest from friends and co-workers who wanted to place an order for our eggs! So now we are business people for real! Well I mean we aren’t breaking any records but it is nice to get a little something back to help pay for chicken feed and pine shavings! Plus a bonus, we have an almost never-ending supply of breakfast!

Sandy Beach Acadia National Park

Well there they are, all my excuses why I haven’t held up my end of the deal. I know, I know, excuses are like… well you know what they are like but hey I through the cancer card in there in hopes for a sympathy vote! So what do you say, will you come back to this blog for more reading however unimportant, irrelevant or infrequent these posts may be? I hope we can work this out because I really enjoy what we have….. do you think you can ever forgive me? I sure do hope so! Haha!

I hope summer is going well for everyone, unfortunately it seems to be flying by per usual… so please enjoy some Acadia National Park beauty on this glorious Friday! Happy Weekend All! Stay Inspired!

Oh and a little shout to my love… Happy 2 Year Anniversary Mark! Here’s to many more filled with dogs, cats, chickens and laughs! Love you!

The Bubbles at Jordan Pond Acadia National Park

Bubble Rock, South Bubble Mountain Acadia National Park

Jordan Pond from South Bubble Acadia National Park

View from top of Cadillac Mtn Acadia National Park

Sandy Beach Acadia National Park

Maine's Beautiful Rocky Coast Loop Road Acadia National Park

Leave a Reply

